Book Review: Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

  • rubyred8 rubyred7rubyred10rubyred9Rubyred1 Book 58/80 of my reading challenge
  • Popsugar Challenge: a book originally written in a different language (German)

4/5 stars

As if the cover isn’t beautiful enough, the story is too!
I knew I would love this book from the get-go. Time travel is a favourite of mine so as soon as that was mentioned, I was into it.

SYNOPSIS:

Gwyneth is a typical high school student from London just trying to get through school life. Well, except for her family. They’re not so typical. You see, her cousin, Charlotte, has been training her entire life for the moment a dormant gene in her body becomes active. A gene that will allow her to time-travel, as her ancestors did before her. She’s already had the first few symptoms of dizziness. Except Gwyneth has been feeling dizzy too. But that couldn’t be possible, as Sir Isaac Newton himself devised the exact date of birth of the 12th and final time traveller and it’s Charlotte’s birthday which is the day before Gwyneth’s… Sir Isaac Newton couldn’t be wrong, could he?

This book was really fun to read and I flew through it. The main character, Gwyneth, was a little naive and actually sounded quite young, which isn’t normally so typical of YA. I’m hoping that her character will grow as the series develops. A few of the other characters seemed a little underdone as well and could use with some fleshing out in the next instalments.

The mythology was a lot of fun to read about and I liked that it was a very different kind of YA setting. Even though it was set in modern London, it still had that Victorianesque feel to it with the mythology. The book seems to have been well mapped out but I did find myself a little confused as to who belonged to what time-travelling family and so on. There were a few instances that seemed to have been left unexplained so I’m sure we’ll find out more in the next books.

The time-travelling aspect was just so much fun, even though it only works when going into the past. If you’re a fan of time-travel and Victoriana then you will enjoy this book!

There was one thing that was a little annoying. The insta-love. I’m hoping that something shakes things up in the next books, just because I was not ready for the insta-love.

***SPOILER ALERT- PROCEED WITH CAUTION***

It would have been more believable for me if Gideon and Gwyneth hadn’t have kissed at the end. It seemed mega-rushed to me.

***END SPOILER ALERT***

Also, what a beautiful cover! I’m a little bit peeved because the Book Depository sent me the wrong cover and then told me “too bad” when I queried it. I love this cover but I was expecting the metallic version that was pictured. Now I’m a little worried that if I buy the next books from them I will get a series that doesn’t match <first world problems!>

So if you like time travel, mystery, Victoriana and don’t mind a naive main character, then definitely give this a shot!

rubyred11 rubyred2rubyred4 rubyred3

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

  1. Lovely photos! 🙂 I’ve been wanting to read this for a while now, but I tend to proceed with caution when it comes to time-traveling books. They’re very tricky to get right. Hopefully I’ll get around to reading this soon because it sounds very intriguing. Great review! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

